New Forest residents are being encouraged to keep recycling through the festive season as the Christmas countdown starts.

Plenty of household items can be recycled in the clear sack, including paper, cardboard, plastic bottles, tins, cans and aerosols. Recycling just one newspaper can save enough energy to power a television for 4 hours – more than enough time to watch a Christmas movie!

Glass bottles and jars, clothes and shoes can be taken to the recycling centre and put in one of the recycling banks.

Wrapping paper, juice cartons and plastics pots and tubs cannot be recycled in the New Forest. These should be placed in the black rubbish sack, which will be taken to Marchwood Energy Recovery Facility and used to generate electricity.

Cllr Edward Heron, New Forest District Council’s portfolio holder for the environment, said: “Christmas is a busy time but I would like to urge everyone to keep up the good recycling effort that we’ve seen during the rest of the year. We’ve recycled or composted around a third of our rubbish this year and would like residents to help us do even better in 2013.”

To keep disruption to a minimum, there will be some adjustments to recycling and rubbish collections over Christmas:

Normal collection day Revised collection day
Monday 24 December Normal collection day
Tuesday 25 December No collectionNext collection Wednesday 2 January
Wednesday 26 December No collectionNext collection Thursday 3 January
Thursday 27 December Normal collection day
Friday 28 December Normal collection day
Monday 31 December Normal collection day
Tuesday 1 January No collectionNext collection Wednesday 2 January
Wednesday 2 January No collectionNext collection Thursday 3 January
Thursday 3 January Friday 4 January
Friday 4 January Saturday 5 January

All collections will return to normal on Monday 7 January.

Christmas tree drop-off points

Christmas tree drop-off points will be open to the public from Wednesday 2 January to Sunday 13 January across the district and are as follows:

  • Brookley Road car park, Brockenhurst
  • A338 slip road car park, Fordingbridge
  • New Road car park, Hythe
  • St Thomas Street car park, Lymington
  • Village centre car park, Lyndhurst
  • Crossmead Avenue car park, New Milton
  • The Furlong car park, Ringwood
  • Westfield car park, Totton